Here to Help You Pick the Perfect Book ...

MELANIE’S Book List

Meet Our Staff - MelanieI love reading about people’s fascinating lives, so ask me about memoirs and biographies. If you like quirky novels by authors like Tim Dorsey and Chuck Palahnuik or literary thrillers like Gone Girl, let’s connect!

 

Reading Now:

Girl Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis

If you or someone you know needs a little motivation or inspiration to be the best most genuine version of themselves, read this book! Told in the voice of a trusted girlfriend, so funny and so true! A MUST read!

Past Favorites:

The Glass Forest by Cynthia Swanson

A haunting suspense novel set in 1960’s upstate New York. The novel identifies the Glass family- strong Silja, demure and naive Angie, and quiet young Ruby. The three women weave a haunting tale of manipulation, secrets, and deceit. 

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

Fans will love Hannah’s newest book! A family saga set in the isolated Alaskan Mountains during the 1970’s. It is a tender story of a mother’s love, first love, and a family harboring brutal secrets.

Coming of Age: The Sexual Awakening of Margaret Mead by Deborah Beatriz Blum

A wonderful biography of Margaret Mead which focuses on her developing teen years and into her early adulthood, based on diary entries and letters.  This biography takes place at a time when tradition was followed, not defied. I found this book informative and an intriguing look into Margaret’s personal life!

Mad by Chloe Esposito

Sex, drugs, and murder; what’s not to like? The first book in the Mad, Bad, and Dangerous to Know trilogy: Mad is the introduction to the lives of sociopath Alvie, and her twin sister Beth. Fans of Gone Girl, and The Girl on the Train will LOVE it!

The Thing About Love by Julie James

A terrific well-written mystery with a splash of romance.  A wonderful beach read by best-selling author and playwright Julie James.
thingaboutlove

The Last Night at Tremore Beach by Mikel Santiago
Psychological thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat! A divorced composer, Peter Harper is taking a break from his life, renting a beach house when an accident leaves him having horrible premonitions and chilling nightmares.

The Fifth Letter by Nicola Moriarty
Contemporary women’s fiction with secrets, lies, and betrayals between four girlfriends. Modern and suspenseful.
TheFifthLetter

And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer by Fredrik Backman
Fredrik Backman’s latest book is small yet carries a lot of weight. The story of a grandson and son dealing with a grandfather’s dementia. Every word cuts right to the heart. Sincerely moving and endearing. A book all should read!
WayHome

The Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz
A good summer read of love, secrets and the history of Kentucky bourbon.

Among The Ten Thousand Things by Julia Pierpont
A portrait of a family falling apart. Witty and genuine.

Our Souls at Night by Kent Haruf
Tender and bittersweet. Addie and Louis, widowed and lonely, find companionship and maybe more.

Euphoria by Lily King
Captivating read that grabs you on the first page! Set in 1930’s New Guinea, three pioneering anthropologist get caught in a passionate love triangle.

The First Bad Man by Miranda July
A nontraditional love story, it is a debut novel featuring a haunted eccentric middle-age woman whose life is turned completely upside down when her bosses’ twenty one year old wild child moves in with her. It is filled with obsession, humor, and twists.
TheFirstBadMan

The Secret Wisdom Of The Earth by Christopher Scotton
Set in the mountains of Eastern Kentucky, this is a story of a young boy coming to terms with the tragic death of his brother. It also deals with the towns fight against strip mining.
TheSecretWisdomOfTheEarth

The Wild Truth by Carine McCandless
It is a heart wrenching story of a young man’s struggle with abuse and family dysfunction. The book is written by his sister in an attempt to redeem his untimely death.
TheWildTruth

Wolf In White Van by John Darnielle
A story that goes inside the twisted mind of a disfigured interactive-game inventor who is being blamed for the death of someone that takes his game a little too far.
WolfInWhiteVan

The Romanov Sisters: The Lost Lives of the Daughters of Nicholas and Alexandra by Helen Rappaport
The Romanov Sisters Book Cover

Summer House with Swimming Pool by Herman Koch
Summer House with Swimming Pool

Bittersweet by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
Bittersweet Book Cover

Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman
Orange Is The New Black Book Cover